Australian Hair Fashion Awards

Australian Hair Fashion Awards



Monday night saw Doltone House in Sydney house the 2013 Australian Hair Fashion Awards. It was a hair extravaganza, sponsored by David Mannah’s iconic magazine The Journal – formerly Austrlalian Hairdressers’ Journal. Judging by the awards night, the magazine’s new look promises to be a big hit.

Hosted by Miss Universe Australia winner, Laura Dundovic and actor, Dan Ewing, the night was flawless and it was a real thrill to be there. Standouts were performances by Natasha Bedingfield, looking incredible in her super-glam floor-length gold sequined dress and white blonde faux mohawk. Australian Idol winner, Stan Walker was super cool, as was Prinnie Stevens from The Voice.


The awards themselves were well-deserved and equally well-received.

Andrew O’Toole won Photographer of the Year, which held particular significance for me personally. I was lucky enough to work with him on some photoshoots a couple of years ago, so it was great to see him step up for the award.

Frank Apostolopoulos, Creative Director of BIBA Salons, was named Hairdresser of the Year to standing ovation and fireworks in his honour.


Australian Hair Fashion Award Winners

AHFA Hairdresser of the Year Frank Apostolopoulos

AHFA Australian Hairdresser of the Year 2013 Sponsored by Label.M – Frank Apostolopoulos


AHFA Creative Colourist of the Year 2013 sponsored by Goldwell – Igor Rosales-Jackson

AHFA Mens Hairdresser of the Year 2013 sponsored by American Crew – Lucas Dowling


AHFA NSW Hairdresser of the Year 2013 – Kobi Bokshish

AHFA Victoria/Tasmania Hairdresser of the Year 2013  – Michelle Anthony

AHFA Queensland Hairdresser of the Year 2013  – Bill Tsiknaris

AHFA SA Hairdresser of the Year 2013 – Sam James

AHFA WA/NT Hairdresser of the Year 2013 – Judith Mc Ewen

AHFA Artistic Team of the Year 2013 – Papas & Pace


AHFA Avant Garde Hairdresser of the Year 2013  – Wade Blackford

AHFA Apprentice Hairdresser of the Year 2013 – Steff Tanian

AHFA Salon of the Year 2013 – Head Studio

AHFA Salon Manager of the Year Dimitri Papas – Papas & Pace

AHFA Best New Salon Design – Uros Mikic  – Kinky Curly Straight

AHFA Excellence in Salon Training 2013 – Papas & Pace


AHFA Excellence in Education 2013 – Tracey Hughes Education

AHFA Make-Up Artist of the Year – Sue Marshall

AHFA Photographer of the Year – Andrew O’Toole

AHFA Session Stylist of the Year – Alan White

Best New Professional Hair Product – KEVIN.MURPHY – FULL.AGAIN

Best New Consumer Hair Product – LIVE CLEAN Exotic Nectar Argan Oil Restorative Shampoo

Best New Product Packaging and Design – XCESSIVE – Refinement Mist

Best New Marketing Campaign – Eleven Australia

Australian Wholesaler of the Year – KIMDEC


Thanks again to The Journal for such a great night. Make sure you get a look at your hairdresser’s copy next time you’re in salon.

Deja una respuesta

Tu dirección de correo electrónico no será publicada. Los campos obligatorios están marcados con *